PSL T20 | Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League T20 Cricket - PSL T20
Full coverage of Pakistan Super League with PSL T20 2016 live scores, latest news, pictures, videos, Schedule, Fixtures and Results and Ball by ball commentary. The new PSL T20 League in Pakistan will see players from domestic cricket as well as international cricket.
An official ceremony took place, attended by PCB officials, to launch Pakistan's biggest sporting event Pakistan Super League that will include local, national as well as international players.
Pakistan Super League - PSL T20
The PCB is planning to hold its first Super League in Qatar early next year in Feb-March 2016 before the T20 World Cup.
Pakistan Series During 2015-16


Lahore (Pakistan) - Pakistan on Wednesday announced it will host a twice-postponed Twenty20 league in Doha, Qatar, next year. The event is scheduled for...

Announcement of PSL T20 Cricket in Pakistan

The launch of the league

PCB is all efforts to start a Pakistan Super League (PSL T20), modeled on the megabucks Indian Premier League.

Four companies, including one from India, are expected to give a presentation to the PCB this week on how to stage the PSL, with a UAE-based bank and two telecoms companies interested in taking up team franchises.

"It's exciting to have a very good initial response from corporate companies on the PSL," PCB chief operating officer Subhan Ahmed told us.

"We are looking at the viability of a Twenty20 event involving some foreign players, and it would be great if it comes about," he said.

It is not the first time the PSL idea has been floated. Former PCB chairman Naseem Ashraf wanted to launch a league to rival IPL, but he had to quit after military ruler Pervez Musharraf was ousted and the idea was dropped.

"We gave a detailed plan about PSL and shared it with the top brass of PCB in 2009 and they expressed great interest and took our business model, but it was not pursued," said Salman Ahmed, the co-partner in Portfolio World, a company which also deals with managing players.

Ahmed pointed to the success of the inaugural Bangladesh Premier League earlier this year as evidence that there is room for more than one Twenty20 league in South Asia.

PSL T20 delayed to 2014

After many earlier delays, the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) plan of organizing a Pakistan Super League (PSL) gets delayed after the official inauguration as well, and this time it is believed that the board is trying to launch the first season in February just before the T20 World Cup in March.

The PCB is planning to hold the event from first week of Feb, 2014, stretching to about 15 to 18 days, a well thought timing that will be helpful for the following major event.

About PSL

The Pakistan Super League, PSL, is a major professional Twenty20 cricket league of 5 franchised member clubs. Headquartered in Lahore, the PSL will become the premier professional cricket league in Pakistan replacing the Faysal Bank T20 Cup. The inaugural 2014 season is speculated to begin as early as February.

In November 2012 Haroon Lorgat, former ICC chief executive, was hired by the Pakistan Cricket Board to setup the proposed Pakistan Super League, contributing at a strategic level to ensure the board was headed in the right direction. "It's not a long time from now to then but there is still a lot of planning and work has been done and a lot to be done but I can see that there is a lot of energy to get this league off the ground," Lorgat said while at the PCB headquarters in Lahore. The Pakistan Super League is also being used by the PCB as a stepping-stone for the revival of international cricket in Pakistan. In October 2012, a World XI side played two unofficial T20s against a combined Pakistan XI in Karachi. On 10 January 2013, the Pakistan Super League logo was officially unveiled to the public in an event organized by the PCB in Lahore. Top Pakistan cricketers including the PCB Chairman Zaka Ashraf and former ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat were among those who attended the event.

Zaka Ashraf, chairman of the PCB, said he had talked with officials of several cricket boards about sending players to the PSL. "We have received a positive response from Sri Lanka Cricket, Cricket Australia and even South Africa," Ashraf said.

League structure, format & auction

The value of the upcoming Pakistan Super League (PSL) is being estimated in being in "excess of $100 million" according to Lorgat. Although the names of the region/city-based franchises or the list of companies interested in buying these franchises were not revealed, the PCB is hopeful of completing the franchise-auction process. The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced that for the first 3 years, the league will consist of five teams with 6 foreign players in each team as well as 10 local players and 2 emerging players. A positive response has come from Sri Lanka Cricket, Cricket Australia and South Africa according to Zaka Ashraf. Indian players are also keen to attend the PSL. The inaugural season will be played over 15 days and would involve a total of 23 matches, being at a single venue. Teams will play each other twice in a league format before the top four teams qualify for the semi-finals.

Future Expansion

The PCB has ambitious plans to expand the league in the fourth season to eight teams with a 59-match tournament. these will be played in Karachi.

Broadcast Rights

Signing a broadcast deal by the PCB will be done before the end of February 2013. PTV Sports, TEN Sports and Nimbus Entertainment are rumored to be part of the deal as well as Power FM 99.

Foreign Players

Sunil Narine for Karachi Team, Chris Gayle for Lahore Team, Marlon Samuels for Faisalabad Team, Andrew Symonds for Sialkot Team, Owais Shah for Karachi Team, Lasith Malinga for Karachi Team, Hashim Amla for Federal Team, Imran Tahir for Lahore Team, Sanath Jayasuriya for Karachi Team, Scott Styris for Federal Team,Brad Hogg for Federal Team,Brad Hodge for Faisalabad Team etc.

PSL Teams

  • Karachi Super Stars
  • Lahore Warriors
  • Faisalabad Rangers
  • Federal Vipers
  • Sialkot Smashers

Ten Sports Live in Pakistan

PSL Fixtures »

Fri Feb 12 | PSL 2016 kicks off